Hungry, Hungry Hippo

Ok, not really.  And I didn’t want to add this to my post about Julie and Rob’s present.  So you’re all lucky, you get two posts from me tonight.  But this one really isn’t a post.  It’s more of a request.

I have a project in mind, and I would like you all to help me! Well, except Mom and Dad.  I would like everyone to send me their favorite recipe.  I’m not looking for anything complicated, or anything that requires a ton of specialty ingredients.  But maybe that special meal you loved to have your mom or dad make while growing up.  Or maybe it’s your favorite go-to meal when you just don’t feel like thinking about what to cook. 

If you are able to help me out, I’d really appreciate it.  I would like to have these by July 10th.  Thanks everyone!  Oh, and Mom and Dad don’t need to respond because I can just go raid their recipe files.  That and except for my Sloppy Joes, most of my favorite recipes come from them.

As an incentive, I’m going to randomly select (pull name(s) from a hat!) someone to receive a homemade gift.  Perhaps you’ll receive a Starburst Hotpad of your own 😀

One Response to Hungry, Hungry Hippo

  1. loremor says:

    So easy and so good! by Rachael Ray…

    Turkey Mini-Burgers with Warm Potato Salad
    Ingredients
    2 pounds red potatoes, unpeeled
    Salt
    20 ounces ground turkey
    1/3 cup plain breadcrumbs
    1 large egg
    1 1/2 tablespoons chopped fresh sage
    1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil (EVOO)
    Four slices cheddar cheese (1 ounce each), quartered
    1/4 cup white wine vinegar
    3 tablespoons snipped chives (optional)
    Dijon mustard
    8 small dinner rolls or potato rolls, split
    Preparation
    Cut the potatoes into 1/2-inch cubes, place in a large pot and cover with 1 inch of water. Salt the water and bring to a boil over high heat. Continue boiling until the potatoes are tender, about 10 minutes.
    In a medium mixing bowl, combine the ground turkey with the breadcrumbs, egg, sage and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Divide the mixture into eighths and form into 1/2-inch thick patties.
    Heat 1 tablespoon of EVOO in a large grill pan over medium heat. When the EVOO is rippling hot, add the patties and cook, flipping once, until cooked through, about 4 minutes per side. Place two small cheese squares on each burger.
    When the potatoes are cooked, drain them and immediately toss with the remaining 1/4 cup EVOO, vinegar, 1/2 teaspoon salt and the chives.
    Serve each burger on a roll spread with mustard. Serve two burgers on each plate with the potato salad.

    Like

Leave a Reply

