In the paraphrased words of Hamlet… Sleep, Sleep…Sleep

No, that’s not the answer to what I’m reading (which is one of Nora Robert’s latests that I borrowed from Dad), it’s the answer to what I’m doing this next week.  I, dear and wonderful people, am on vacation, not to return to my full time job until next Wednesday.  That’s 11 glorious days of sleeping in! And napping whenever I feel like it!  Can you tell I’m starting to feel a little sleep deprived and burned out?  That’d be the reason for taking vacation now, rather than waiting until my birthday. 

It’s not all going to be sleep and lazy though 😀  There’ll be activity in there too.  Mom and I are going to a craft show today, provided her arthritis is being nice to her today.  It’s one of the Buckler’s Promotions things.  Neither of us has ever been and we usually like wandering around and seeing the items people have made.  Hopefully it’ll be heavy on the homemade and very light on the imported, which I’ve seen at shows before.  Maybe I’ll even pick up a few gifts, if I see something that strikes me as a good gift for X for X holiday 😀

Monday I’m going to Busch Gardens with a friend.  I’ve only been there once.  Once folks!  And that was free!  I didn’t get to do much, went on only a couple of rides.  But given the reason I was there free, I didn’t feel right taking off to go on more rides.  One of J’s childhood friends, Kevin, moved to Nashville years ago to try his hand as a musician.  He’s a bass player and has played as part of the band for John Couger, Big and Rich (if I remember right) and is currently part of the band for Lonestar!  The one and only time I went to Busch Garden’s it was on the Kevin’s friends and family pass when Lonestar was playing there.  It was actually a pretty amazing day!  We hung out with Kevin and his family, then when Kevin had to get ready for the show, we were set up in the VIP seating area.  You know, it was one of those events where people can get into the concert for free, it’s part of the park admission.  But if you want to be able to sit down, you gotta pay.  But I think the best part was actually getting to meet the band (and this was before Richie went solo). 

Ok, slightly off topic there 😀 Sorry! Anyway a friend and I are going to Busch Gardens Monday and this time, I’m hitting the rides! I’m hoping it’ll be somewhat quiet since school started back up this week here.  It started Monday and was closed Tuesday as a precaution thanks to Tropical Storm Fay.  J might be taking next Friday off, so we’ll hang out and maybe do something during the day, since I have to work Friday night 😦 And on my last day of vacation, I have my six month appointment with my neurologist.  That visit will probably go something like this:

Him: How are you doing?
Me: Pretty good
Him: Any new symptoms?
Me: (ok, this part is new, I’ll be talking to him about the slight occasional pain I feel on my spinal cord) Nope.
Him: Any depression?
Me: Nope, things are bright and sunny!
Him: Ok, see you in another 6 months.

No joke, that’s actually how my past visits have gone.  He’ll renew my stay awake meds which I hate the idea of.  But, they help so I’ll keep taking them.  Then I’ll be on my merry way.  All in all, it sounds like a wonderful vacation to me.  I should feel nice and rested when I go back to work.  Hopefully I’ll have a few things straightened up around here.  And hopefully Ciera and I will be going for a few walks.  I don’t think I’ll be able to successfully bring the kits though.  I’d tried the leash thing with Tasha before, when she was a kitten.  She doesn’t like it.  So no walking the cats.  Oh, and of course, lots of crocheting.  I’m still working on the pink ribbon afghan, won by DSM of the Weight Watchers message boards. I have 11 1/2 rows containing ribbon done, I have 12 1/2 left!  Woohoo!  See y’all on the flip side.

3 Responses to In the paraphrased words of Hamlet… Sleep, Sleep…Sleep

  1. Courtenay says:

    Sleep a lot this week for me, ok? I’m not going to be able to handle getting up at 6 am for class at 8. BLAH!

    Like

  2. sissie says:

    you enjoy lots of fun and sleep this week as you so deserve it:)
    hugs,
    sissie

    Like

  3. Darlene says:

    Hi just thought I would pop in to say hello the cat is beautiful and I hope you have a great vcation
    Darlene (Hounddog)

    Like

Leave a Reply

