Woohoo! I did it!

This past weekend I took the Basic Rider’s Course and passed!  I can officially get a motorcycle endorsement added to my license and stop being a control freak passenger when out with J and everyone else.  The class was a lot of fun but hotter than hell.  I had to be at class Saturday and Sunday by 6:45am.  Yes, AM!  And when I left to head over there it was already hot out. 

Both days were in the 90’s with high humidity.  Sunday definitely had no clouds in the sky at all.  And we were covered.  Leather boots, jeans, long sleeved shirt, gloves and either a full or 3/4 helmet.  I didn’t need to worry about tying my hair back out of my face, the sweat that completly soaked it took care of that for me.  I had fun learning how to take curves and wide turns.  But I apparently am not capable of doing slow, tight U-turns without putting a foot (or 2) down.  So I’ve decided, any U-turns I need to do will be done with my feet on the ground.  Mom and Dad showed up Sunday morning too.  Mom said when she took her class Dad decided he absolutely needed to be there to take pictures.  So I got the same treatment.  Yay me.  So here for your viewing pleasure.

Motorcycle class

On another note, J and I watched Marley and Me tonight.  Stop reading now if you don’t want to know anything about the movie.  We’ve both read the book, so nothing was exactly a surprise.  Overall the movie is good.  I don’t think I liked Owen Wilson in the role, Jennifer Aniston did a pretty decent job.  And as a couple, I wasn’t really seeing it.  The end was really difficult though.  Reading about the loss was a lot easier than seeing it.  And throughout those scenes I kept remebering having to make that incredibly difficult decision to have my Cocker Spaniel put down.  Even though I knew it was the best thing for her, a question of quality of life versus quantity, it was still so hard.  And I felt like I was killing my dog.  Watching that be done for Marley brought it all back to me and I couldn’t almost see my own experience overlayed over the movie.  It’s been 4 1/2 years since I had to make that decision, but watching the movie it felt like yesterday. 

Here’s a picture of Sasha.  Sasha

Leave a Reply

