Prairie Star

Here’s my most recent finished project, the Prairie Star Afghan, a free pattern found here

Prairie Star As soon as I saw the pattern I knew I wanted to make it for my friend HipnTrendy and I knew I wanted it in oranges, reds and yellows.  I made some slight adjustments to the color layout.  The original pattern called for 6 different colors and I didn’t want to use 6 for this one.  I’m really happy with the way it turned out and I’ve got another one in mind, using all 6 colors.

I couldn’t share this until Hip received it, since she reads this and it was a surprise for her.  I just wish I could have been there to catch a picture of her opening it.  I was tempted to try and contact her husband to get him to do it for me, but thought nah, too much like work 😀  So Hip, I hope you enjoy this and the hotpads!

This is what the afghan looks like with all colors.  I’d also like to play with increasing the size so it’s more queen/king size.  I have an idea in mind, other than the simple hook size increase.

3 Responses to Prairie Star

  1. Courtenay says:

    Wow! That is really neat! How long did it take you to make one? Are they expensive?

    Like

    • craftycritter says:

      This one took me a while. I started on it sometime last year and had a lot of put it down moments. Usually because something else pops up, like people getting pregnant. Cost wise, I try to make sure and buy the yarn on sale or with coupons. Family and friends are great when it comes to that, they all provide me with the Joann’s and Micheal’s ones when I need them 😀

      Like

  2. hipntrendy says:

    Such a stinker! I love it – absolutely gorgeous. When I received the box I thought it was books so yes, I was completely flumoxed when I opened it and inside the space bag was that and the lovely hotpads. The hubs thought it was all really nice and looked at me as if to say ‘why aren’t you doing this kind of stuff?’ Very easy to explain: LACK OF PATIENCE!

    Thanks again – I need to post it on my blog as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

