Amazing!

I have had such a positive response to my Hotpads for Hope.  I was a little afraid I’d make all these and no one would want any and there would go my great fundraising idea.  But I’ve been very pleasantly surprised (even with all the positive encouragement from my co-workers).  I’ve already sold a total of 11 items and I have order requests pending for another 10-13!  Most of those are custom too.  I’ m very excited about being able to present the money raised to the National MS Society. 

There’s a doctor at USF’s MS Center who is applying for a grant to study CCSVI (read more about it here) and MS.  This doctor believes that problems with blood flow between the brain, spinal cord and the heart contributes to nervous system damage.  This is a study that won’t be underwritten by drug companies because any treatment that results likely won’t include medication.  But this is an important study, the results of this study can bring about new procedures, therapies, treatments and whatever to help people suffering from MS, and maybe even other diseases.  As far as I’m aware, this is a completely new direction for anything.  So the funds raised from my Hotpads for Hope as well as funds raised by others during the walks and ride will not only help make life easier for MS sufferer’s in the area, but may also be used to help fund the grant for this study.  Or fund the grant for other studies to find better (ORAL please!!) meds, the cause of MS or even a cure. 

This isn’t quite where I planned for this to go, but there you have it! I need to get back to crocheting my little fingers off, I have orders to fill!  And I’m losing time this weekend, we’re Daytona bound for Bike Week! Don’t worry, I’ll have pictures for everyone when I come back.  Enjoy your weekend, pray to whatever higher power you believe in that it’ll warm up and I won’t freeze this weekend and I’ll see you on the flip side.  Oh, and if you haven’t already, get your order in for your own hotpads!

Leave a Reply

