Sooo yummy!

Strawberry season here in central West Coast Florida is winding down. And that means local growers start doing you pick ’ems. So J and I went and picked ’em! We got 10 quarts of strawberries for $5.  My parents got some, he has some, he wants to make jam, and of course I have some. I decided I wanted to make chilled strawberry soup. I had some on a cruise (pretty sure it was the Royal Caribbean one last year) and loved it. So off to Google I went. I actually found a couple of recipes to try and the one I really wanted to try calls for rhubarb. The store didn’t have any frozen, so that meant a change in recipes. I ended up using:

Chilled Strawberry Bisque
2 cups frozen strawberries
1 cup milk
1/2 cup of heavy cream (whipping cream)
1/2 cup sour cream
2 Tbsp. sugar
fresh mint for flavor and garnish

Puree strawberries, milk, cream and sour cream in blender or food processor until smooth. Stir in sugar. Chill 8 hours or overnight in refrigerator before serving.

*********************************

I made some changes to this one. I only used 1/4 c. of the whipping cream, I didn’t get mint.  And I think I used more than 2 cups of strawberries, or it was close anyway. Next time I make this I’m going to cut down on the sour cream as well and up the strawberries. I love it, but there’s just a bit too much taste of sour cream for me.  This is a tasty, easy, healthy recipe.  Great for the hot days of summer.

Leave a Reply

