Pita Pizza and Salad

It’s what’s for dinner. The pita pizza was completely fly by the seat of my pants. While grocery shopping yesterday I picked up a head of lettuce, some tomatoes, feta cheese and Greek Salad dressing. So I knew I wanted that salad tonight. But I had no idea what I wanted to go with it. Then I started thinking about Pizza Margharita.

So I did my own version. I got some pita bread (because it was cheaper than the pre-cooked pizza crust stuff), some roma tomatoes and mozarella cheese. I sauteed some garlic, onions, green pepper and the sliced tomatoes in some olive oil. Attempted to drizzle some olive oil on the pitas. Then added garlic powder, oregano, basil, rosemary, thyme and parsley to the pitas and stuck them in the oven at 325 for about 5 minutes.

Took the pitas out, spread out the sauteed mixture on top and then topped that off with sliced mozarella cheese. Put it back in the oven for probably about 15 to 20 minutes (until it was all hot and the cheese was melted). Over all, not too bad. I’d definitely do it again, maybe with a shredded Italian cheese mixture instead of just mozarella. And definitely less olive oil. My little pizzas ended up half soggy, half crispy. Oops.

Leave a Reply

