Baby Steps

I’m about a week post surgery and doing pretty good. I had a follow up visit today and got the sterile tape removed from my incision site. I was told I can shower, yay!! That means I can finally wash my hair. Before I couldn’t because I had to make sure to keep my incision dry. I still can’t drive either. The doc said I should expect to me in my collar for about 12 weeks and as long as I’m wearing it, no driving. Thankfully J actually passes my work to get to his, so once I’m cleared to return to work I can actually go back to the office. By then I’ll be more than willing to do so and will be happy I won’t have to be stuck at home all day long.

I was also cleared to exercise! Nothing major of course but I was surprised to hear I’m cleared to do arm weights. Those are to be limited to no more than 30 lbs. I can live with that. Our weather is actually cooling off a bit and the last few days have been absolutely gorgeous. I’m hoping it stays that way and then the plan will be to take two walks every day. One with Ciera and one with Duncan; there’s no way I’m going to try and walk the two of them together right now. I’m also looking forward to getting back to YouFit. I’ll be walking on the treadmill, doing the cross trainer type thingy and recumbant bike. I also plan on doing the weight circuit and doing light weights. I think I’ll work on walking this week though and work up to YouFit for next week.

I’m amazed at how little pain I’ve had since the surgery. Yes I’ve had at least one pain pill daily, I’m on Tylenol #3 and it works fine. I know I could be on something that’s a lot stronger but it’s not needed. The pain itself isn’t intense, it’s pretty low level. But if I’m going to be moving about a bit such as maybe heading to the store for grocery shopping, I’ll take one, especially if I’m already a bit sore. Most of the time I take the pain pills is when there’s been prolonged pain.

I have a follow up visit in 3 weeks. I have to do an x-ray before that visit to get an idea of how things are going and healing. In the meantime, I get to concentrate on resting up, exercising and training the pup. Along with planning J’s birthday party and doing some crocheting. Lord knows I need to keep myself busy or I’ll go out of my mind with boredom.

Leave a Reply

