Kiwanis Morton Plant Mease Midnight Run

July 3, 2012 at 11:25 pm my second ever 5k started. I was hoping that a night run would be a little cooler, sadly it was still nice and hot. I enjoyed it though. The route was an out and back and went over the gulf. It was beautiful running with the stars in the sky, lights in the distance reflecting off of the water and candles in gallon jugs lining the roadway.

I went into this 5k feeling like I was stronger and better prepared than the last one. I was even looking forward to shaving some seconds or even minutes off of my last time. I didn’t plan for the drawbridge though. Or the other slight hill. Have I ever mentioned that I hate hills? I do. And the drawbridge did me in I think. I did ok with it heading out, but on the way back my legs felt more tired. I actually ended up walking a bit more than I had planned. But I was still happy with what I managed to do and my splits.

Overall: 42:20, I was #70 out of 79 in my age group.

Mile 1: 12:41

Mile 2: 13:16

Mile 3: 14:04

Can you tell where I walked more?

I even got a nice new workout shirt.

And when we got back to the car, there was a very interesting flyer for an upcoming 5k. I think I’m going to skip this particular one.

 

Leave a Reply

