Everything around us is made up of energy. To attract positive things in your life, start by giving off positive energy.

-Author unknown

Since I just wrote about energy yesterday, it somewhat feels like I’m writing about it again.  But I think this one can be looked at in a much different light.  This quote actually makes me think of a few different things, but all of them related.  First off is everyone’s childhood favorite, Thomas the Little Engine that Could and his “I think I can I think I can” which changed into “I know I can I know I can.” 

To be successful at any journey in life, no matter what that journey is and what challenge one gives oneself, one has to have positive thoughts.  It’s those thoughts that keeps one motivated and moving forward.  In my Weight Watcher meetings, and even on message boards, I often hear about people who say they don’t think they can do this.  Or that they have started to have negative, self-doubting thoughts.  I’m not immune from that.  I freely admit to having those thoughts in recent weeks.  I felt like since I can’t seem to stay on plan and losing, then maybe I should just give up; that it would be so much easier to just not worry about what I eat and not have to work out all the time.  Sure that would be easier, in a way.  It would also be harder.  Because then I don’t have confidence in myself, I don’t have pride that I have managed to achieve something difficult.  I also have to face buying new, bigger clothes.  And staying on my high blood pressure meds; not to mention the other physical issues that come along with being over weight.  So negative thoughts have to be nipped in the bud.  They are not allowed.  For me, “I think I can” is also not allowed.  It has to be “I know I can” and “I am.” 

I often find myself saying to people, when asked if I’ve lost weight or have been working out, “I’m trying.”  I actually have to mentally stop myself from saying that.  Trying, to me, means that I leave wiggle room for failure.  That if I try and don’t succeed, that’s ok, because I accept that success may not happen.  So now my response is “I’m working on/at it.”  It’s not something I’m trying to do, it’s something I’m doing.  And to me, that’s a more positive frame of mind.  It is something that will lead better to success.

I mentioned above that today’s quote made me think of a few different things.  Another that comes to mind is about confidence.  How many times has everyone heard if you are confident in yourself, no matter what you look like/weigh, then that confidence will show through; and people are attracted to confident people?  Yeah, that’s something that I’ve heard frequently too.  But, to me, it’s definitely another thing that fits today’s quote.  Being confident and thinking positively are definitely synonymous.  They fit together like puzzle pieces; or maybe they are two sides of the same coin.  Eh, pick your metaphor 🙂

Yesterday definitely was not a productive day overall.  It was a day where I felt like I was in a fog for much of it and didn’t really wake up until late in the morning.  My co-worker workout buddy and I did go workout though.  We’ve been working on improving our running on Tuesday and Thursday’s.  Yesterday we actually decided to not do a warm up walk; mostly because our runs are 45 seconds in length and we’re very slow runners.  So for us it’s almost like walking.  We are gradually improving our time though, which we are both happy with.  And yesterday’s run netted me 5 1/2 activity points! Woohoo!!  It came in handy since by the time I got home last night the last thing I wanted to do was think and cook.  So dinner was pizza; nice and easy.  My most difficult decision was what flavor pizza.  Tonight, J and I are splurging a bit on dinner.  My department at work had a market analysis done and a bunch of people (mostly people who have been here awhile) got raises to bring us more in line with the “market”.  I don’t know what the market is and I don’t care; I do know it meant I not only got a raise, but it was retroactive to September 1st.  So today’s paycheck has that extra, “missed” pay in it.  And we’re going to Kobe for dinner.  I’ve already decided that after work I not only need to take the dogs for a walk, but once I deposit them back home, I also need to head out for either a short run or a bike ride.  And tomorrow I’m going to the Columbia restaurant for lunch; one of my Weight Watcher friends is in town for vacation and I get to see her again.  Yay!  Tomorrow night is Food Truck Wars in my area, so J and I are going to that along with my co-worker buddy.  So yes, lots of exercise is needed this weekend to make sure I stay on track and heading downward.

Any exciting weekend plans? Remember, stay positive.

One Response to Everything around us is made up of energy. To attract positive things in your life, start by giving off positive energy.

  1. jimmiesworld says:

    Yep, I’m working on this too. Sigh.

    Like

Leave a Reply

