A friend can tell you things you don’t want to tell yourself.

– Frances Ward Weller

How many people truly have friends that are this honest with you?  Are you this honest with yourself?  I can truly say that while I have really good friends, I don’t know that any of them would be this honest with me.  Except maybe J, but I’m not counting him because I truly think that his perception is a bit skewed.  Not only because I’m his significant other, but because we live together and see each other every day.  It’s like looking in the mirror every day; you don’t always see your own physicaly issues because you are so used to seeing that image. 

I feel like society today, regarding this, is of two extremes.  On the one end is the people who will tell you everything no matter how it sounds; they will not sugar coat or take a gentle approach.  On the other end is those who will not say a word because it could be considered cruel and none of their business.  The question is, where do I fall on this spectrum?  I think I’m more towards the “keep my lips” zipped end of it with a few exceptions.  I feel like most people are aware of their physical issues, mental and emotional ones on the other hand…. 

The way I approach this, I think, is the way I want most people to approach me regarding it.  I know what I need to work on; I’m actually aware of how I look and why I need to lose weight.  I don’t need everyone asking me about it or telling me what to do.  But I do think that, as a part of self improvement, I could reach out to the people in my life and ask them what about me they think could use improvement/changing.  Hmmm, that’s a bit intimidating.  I’ll definitely have to think on that some more. 

I do have happy news to report.  My heart rate monitor gives me weekly totals, I believe it goes from Monday to Sunday for tracking.  So for the last week I actually burned over 2700 calories.  I’m really looking forward to weigh in tomorrow.  And I joined a fitness challenge at work.  It just started yesterday and this week is the baseline week.  Once exercise is entered the system then converts it to units.  Which is honestly a bit screwy because apparently my 30 minute total tone class yesterday got me almost 3000 units.  I’m still working on figuring that one out; but I probably won’t succeed.

Leave a Reply

