It is never too late to be what you might have been.

– George Elliot

If we wait for the moment when everything, absolutely everything is ready, we shall never begin.  – Ivan Turgenev

Today is a two-fer!  The first one is the Spark Quote from yesterday and the second is today’s.  I like them both, a lot.  And both seem to really be fitting.  Plus these two are so dang easy to put together, for me anyway. 

On Saturday I did the Bride of Frankenfooter 5K at Starkey Wilderness Park; an absolutely beautiful area to run in.  Heck that’s a great area for any kind of outdoor exercise.  We’ve been feeling the effects of Hurricane Sandy in the form of cooler temps (it was 54 when I left for work this morning!) and breezy conditions.  Saturday was very breezy and I was a little afraid that it would affect my running.  I didn’t even notice the wind!  Starkey Wilderness is an area that actually reminded me a lot of Northern MN, lots of trees and I really think they helped keep the breeze at bay. 

What does that have to do with today’s quotes?  Well, isn’t it obvious?  I was meant to be more active, to be a runner.  And I’m glad I haven’t waited for the “right” moment.  It would have been so easy to say that I would start when I lost so much weight, or had gotten down to a certain number.  But then I would have missed out on the fun on Saturday.  I wouldn’t have experienced a gorgeous location for running (or walking or bike riding) and I wouldn’t have had the fun I did; I wouldn’t have seen all the creative costumes.  Although I’m still a bit irked at myself for letting Hawkeye Pierce and BJ Hunicut beat me; I let two lushes beat me for cryin’ out loud! 

Nothing is ever going to be perfect and the exact right time to do something, to make positive changes in life, is when you make that decision to do something and follow through.  I’ve made the decision to be a runner; granted I will never be very fast and I will probably never win my category.  But I’m finishing, and that’s an accomplishment.  What about you?  What might you be now that you know it’s not too late?

2 Responses to It is never too late to be what you might have been.

  1. jimmiesworld says:

    I’ll run with you. I have a feeling we are in the same boat. Slow and steady wins the race, right?

    Like

Leave a Reply

