A great obstacle to happiness is expecting too much happiness

– Bernard de Fontanelle

I’m sorry I’ve been MIA for awhile.  I was actually sick last week so I spent a lot of time sleeping.  I worked from home so I wouldn’t share my germs and I spent lunch napping and went back to bed as soon as I logged off from work.  But I’m feeling a lot better, so I’m back!

Today’s quote is so amazingly apropo.  Yesterday I made a decision regarding the Disney Princess Half Marathon that is happening in February.  I decided to, gulp, go for it.  I’m not feeling as panicked today as I did when I signed up, but the feeling is still there.  I’ve never done a half marathon.  I’ve only done 5k’s so far.  But I’m not expecting too much from this; as long as I finish and I finish upright I’ll be happy.  That’s not expecting too much, right? 

RunDisney.com has training plans on their website, mostly associated with the Galloway training plan.  I’ve been loosely following that for awhile now.  I looked at the one for the Disney Princess though, and I should have started “training” three weeks ago.  Oops.  My biggest issue will be the long runs.  I didn’t look at how long they’ve been so far, but in theory I may be able to actually jump in on week 4 with no problems.  My goal for the half is to do intervals of 2 minutes running, 1 minute walking.  And if I really need to, I’ll do run/walk intervals for every other mile.  I’ll make that decision the closer I get though.  So for training, my Tuesday/Thursday lunch runs with my co-worker will be spent working on increasing my running intervals as right now we’re doing 1:1.  And on Saturday’s I’ll work on distance.  With that plan in place, I should succeed at finishing upright, I hope.

Leave a Reply

