The longer we dwell on our misfortunes, the greater is their power to harm us.

– Voltaire

It’s the holiday season, a time of year when so many people slip up and then completely tumble.  It usually starts with a cookie here, a cupcake there or whatever the bad choice du jour is.  We try to blame others “well, So and so brought cookies into the office” or “Our holiday party was at the Cheesecake Factory”.  And when we do slip up, we often will say “well, I already messed up today, I might as well start again tomorrow.”  That’s when tomorrow becomes “I’ll start again next week” which becomes “Next month, after the holidays are over.  That’s when I’ll start again.” 

Well this year I refuse to dwell on any oops I might make.  I’ll make them, I’ll pick myself up and continue on my path.  I won’t let one moment of oops de-rail me any longer.  I’ll accept that I messed up and I will do better the very next time I am faced with a choice, be it someone brought in treats or my next meal.  I have a goal and I will make it to that goal.

Leave a Reply

