Inspiring people are vitamins for our spirits.

They come in all kinds of disguises and descriptions. If you open your heart be being inspired, they will appear.

– Sark

I love this one!  It’s making me think of the wonderful people in my life who inspire me in some way or another, and many don’t know it.  So here they are and why they inspire me.

Nurse Bananahammock and Cheryll – These two are my inspiration for my short term running goals, that is, actually be able to do an interval greater than 1:1 with my training and races.  Both participte in a lot of 5ks, 10ks and half marathons and if they are physically able to go on they will.  Cheryll had a recent goal of a 6 hour walk (a 20k maybe?); she wasn’t able to complete but the fact that she even tried is amazing.  And Nurse Bananahammock just signed up for her gazillionth half marathon; one I might contemplate joining her on depending on how the Disney Princess goes in February.

Vonnie – This woman regularly gets up in the middle of the night to work out!  Ok, it’s more like 4 or 4:30 in the morning; but to a non morning person that is so the middle of the night.  Her dedication to getting up and getting her workouts in mean she recently hit her goal weight and looks AMAZING!  I want arms like her one day.

Derly and Autopilot Legs – They are the runner I want to be someday.  Someone who can actually complete races while running the entire time, even if my idea of running is slower than the speed walkers who beat me on Saturday 🙂

Peanutmomma and Erica – Both women have perservered through health issues and kept moving; they didn’t let that stop them, especially Erica who is amazing.  Well, both are amazing.

Mrs Smitty – She makes me cry every year.  She is a member of team Raw Hinies and each year she trains her hiney off to participate in Colorado’s bike MS.  She has such dedication to it that her daughter has started following in her footsteps. 

There’s many more who inspire me and I am overjoyed to know all of these wonderful people.  Your turn; who inspires you and why?

2 Responses to Inspiring people are vitamins for our spirits.

  1. Vonnie says:

    Aw, Val! Thank you so much for the kind words! It’s things like this that help me keep going too! 🙂

    Like

  2. […] put it, I met a new BFF I didn’t know I had or needed   Vonnie (the same woman who is an inspiration if only for her dedication to getting up in the middle of the night to work out) was also in town […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

