Pain is temporary.

It may last a minute, or an hour, or a day, or a year, but eventually it will subside and something else will take its place.  If I quit, however, it lasts forever.

– Lance Armstrong

I know he’s no longer considered the “golden boy” by many.  But despite what he did or did not do (honestly, I’m very eh about that whole thing), what he said is true.  Yes my legs may hurt from doing lunges or squats and the simple act of sitting down leaves me whimpering.  Yes my arms may hurt and I keep forgetting to not do this, or that and let them rest.  But if I didn’t have that pain, it would mean I’m not doing something good for my body.  And it would mean I’m not doing what I can to counter the MS and make sureI stay as mobile as possible if that’s a situation I face in the future. 

With that being said, remind me of this when I have to face a long run this weekend and I don’t want to because my feet still hurt from the blisters I have developing after the last couple of runs.  Don’t worry, I’m going to do it.  I already plan on making a trip to get moleskin, or whatever it is that is needed for blisters.  And new shoes are in the plan for the weekend.

One Response to Pain is temporary.

  1. Snowcatcher says:

    AWESOME attitude. Keep up the work; the pain sometimes doesn’t go away, but the joy inside makes it more tolerable. Good luck on your run!

    Like

Leave a Reply

